top of page
Search

Global Citizenship Reflections

Updated: Sep 7, 2018


I believe that I have grown in my understanding of what being a Global Citizen is and how to be more globally aware as well as self aware about being accepting of all cultures. I now understand that being a Global Citizen is more than just getting to know people of different nationalities and finding out their stories, but also finding ways to help out and benefit other countries other than America. Volunteering and donating to charitable organizations like the Red Cross and Doctors without Borders, doing mission trips, reflecting and gaining knowledge about the world around us and the people in it, is all what being a Global Citizen is about.


The Global Citizens Project focus group was most memorable to me because I was able to share my insight on the program so far, as well as communicate with other students that are part of the Project and get insight from them as well. I felt like I had the ability to share my opinion on the different events and offer feedback that could help. I was glad that the office was reaching out to students for their stories and experiences with the program and interested in the students' advice on how to make it even better.


This program expanded my knowledge through the different global events and activities. I learned about different United Nations Goals through the workshops that were held. One such goal was no poverty, and we were taught in this workshop that families in other countries live on less than two dollars a day. Another global event tied into this goal, it was the Hunger Banquet, and it also went along with the zero hunger goal. This event came full circle, explaining why because families do not make enough money, they don't have the resources to get food for their families. Due to this, they have to send their children to work to make money to feed themselves also. It explained how Oxfam helps, and how donating can help several families world wide. Learning more about the United Nations goals helped to tie together the different events that I attended. It also showed the different partnerships that the goals have and how they coincide with each other. I also learned about international students and their perspectives of the world through events like Wednesdays with World. I got to hear the stories of several people from different cultures which was very interesting. It was fun making new friends who could bring new ideas than I could to the table. They came from different places, and yet I could see how similar we all are even though we were raised very far from each other.


I believe that I have grown in my understanding of what being a Global Citizen is and how to be more globally aware as well as self aware about being accepting of all cultures. I now understand that being a Global Citizen is more than just getting to know people of different nationalities and finding out their stories, but also finding ways to help out and benefit other countries other than America. Volunteering and donating to charitable organizations like the Red Cross and Doctors without Borders, doing mission trips, reflecting and gaining knowledge about the world around us and the people in it, is all what being a Global Citizen is about.



bottom of page